Cate Brothers

21st Saloon 61 views

This is a special Saturday show!!!

Ernie and Earl Cate, the "Cate Brothers", have been writing and performing their unique style of rock and soul music for more than 20 years.

From 1975 to 1980, the Cate Brothers released 3 LP's on Electra-Asylum Records, and 1 LP on Atlantic Records.

In 1976, "Union Man" (a single from their first Electra-Asylum LP, produced by Steve Cropper, "The Cate Brothers") climbed into the top ten on the national charts and was followed by another successful single, "Can't Change My Heart".

The Cate Brothers chart success led to nation wide television performances such as: American Bandstand, Midnight Special, Austin City Limits, as well as television programs in Canada and Europe.

Performances with artists such as - Queen, Fleetwood Mac, The Beach Boys, Boz Scaggs, Little Feat, The Band and other's brought them more national recognition.

In 1980, the Cate Brothers Band reunited with longtime friend Levon Helm and toured the United States and Canada for 2 years in 1983, the Cate Brothers Band joined Levon Helm, Rick Danko, Garth Hudson and Richard Manuel as "The Band" re-united and toured the U.S., Canada, and Japan. The Cates filled in for Robbie Robertson who declined to join the reunion. They also toured with "Crosby, Stills and Nash".

In 1992, the "Cate Brothers Band" were invited to perform for the Presidential Inagural Ball, "The Blue-Jean Bash", where they performed with "The Band", Bob Dylan, Steven Stills, Clarence Clemons, Kim Wilson, Dr. John among many others.

During the late 1980's and early 1990's, Ernie and Earl Cate continued to write new material and in 1995 their first CD "Radioland" was released on Blue Sun, Ice House, Priority Records. In 1997, they released another CD, "Struck A Vein", and in 1999, their first live CD, "The Cate Brothers Band Live", was released on current records.

The Cate Brothers, through many years of writing and performing, have developed a sound that is truly their own, both soulful and unique.

Band members:

Earl Cate

Ernie Cate

Ron Eoff

Terry Cagle

Dave Renko